Winner and runners-up of the Schroders Economics Prize announced


The winner and runners-up of the Schroders Economics Prize were announced on Tuesday 16 January at Haberdashers' Hall.

The Chief Economist set the following question, which was forwarded to Haberdashers’ Schools’ Year 12 A level students of Economics or Business Studies.

Is High Inflation Temporary or Here to Stay? Discuss

Many students from across the Haberdasher family of schools took part and submitted essays, but only 11 students were shortlisted for the prize-giving award ceremony as finalists.

Students and guests were welcomed to a networking reception hosted by Past Master Caroline Davis hosted at Haberdashers' Hall, before sitting down to lunch and later congratulating the winner and runners-up. 

Finalists were also able to benefit from time spent talking to Haberdasher members who have careers in finance, including:

Mr Iain de Weymarn, Assistant of the Court and Senior Adviser at the Bank of England, Mr Roger Miners, Assistant of the Court, CEO of Paribas Asset Management UK Ltd, Mr Michael Barrington-Hibbert, member of the Freedom and CEO of Barrington Hibbert Associates, Mr Dayaanan Muthukrishnan, member of the Freedom and Investment Banking Analyst at Bank of America and Miss Helena Powell, member of the Freedom and Investment Director at Evelyn Partners.

They also heard from speaker, Mr Johnnie Martin, member of the Freedom and Investor at Augmentum Fintech, who shared his career experiences and advice with the captivated young crowd. 

The standard of essay was extremely high across the board and the winner and runners-up are as follows:

1st place – Avi D, Haberdashers' Boys' School 

Joint 2nd place – ZsaZsi M, Haberdashers' Monmouth Schools and Hayden D, Haberdashers' Adams

Joint 3rd place – Chi N, Haberdashers' Hatcham College and Micheala B, Haberdashers' Hatcham College

The winning school also receives a generous £300 cheque for the furtherance of their school economics department from Schroders.